Americana Highways: Listen: Premiere Of Steve Forbert’s New Album “The Magic Tree” Which Comes Out With His Book This Week

Americana Highways is pleased to premiere Steve Forbert’s new release The Magic Tree (Blue Rose Music), a collection of earlier demo songs that never made earlier albums, now with new backing tracks, and produced by Karl Derfler (Tom Waits). The album is being released with what you might well consider its companion book. The album traces Forbert’s history by resurrecting these abandoned tracks, and the memoirs, Big City Cat: My Life In Folk Rock (PFP Publishing), co-written with Therese Boyd, traces a similar trajectory. Originally envisioned as a screen play, the book chronicles four decades of Forbert’s life, with memories pulled from journals he kept. Managers Danny Fields and Linda Stein and music legends Doc Pomus and John Simon are among those featured. All the tracks but “Only You (And Nobody Else)” were written by Steve Forbert — that one was co-written by Forbert and Robert Johnson. Here is the track listing:
  1. The Magic Tree (Version One)
  2. That’d Be Alright
  3. Carolina Blue Sky Blues
  4. Let’s Get High
  5. Tryna Let It Go
  6. Lookin’ At The River In The Rain
  7. Diamond Sky
  8. Movin’ Though America
  9. I Ain’t Got Time
  10. The Magic Tree (Version Two)
  11. Only You (And Nobody Else)
  12. The Music Of The Night
Give it a listen, here, and then check out the tour dates further below.  
Back to blog